No Comparing

A few years back I took a few E-courses for art, encouragement, and more. One of the thing that was often said over and over was No Comparing!

The best I heard was in Brave Girls Club on Comparing

It is hard to be happy with others good fortune. It is hard to say, good job, congrats, when really you want to say NO fair, and ask yourself,

“Why doesn’t that happen to me, for me?”

Believe me, I know. My friend Pat, knows I know.

But as Brave Girls says

The greatest act of love is being genuinely happy for someone else’s good fortune, especially when your luck is down

There is a difference in Market Assessments (i.e. checking out your competitors, knowing their brand over yours and making sure you are not infringing on any Trademark or Copyrights) and Comparing.

When we Compare we often get in the “I’m not good enough” phase. We think because someone else is doing well that then we should not try. We tell ourselves lies that someone else is “better” than we are.  We have a tendency to throw in the towel or give up when we compare because we then lie to ourselves touting that we will NEVER be as good, as successful or as popular. These are lies we tell ourselves. Untruths that our mind plays with us.

Do not believe everything you think

Different things happen to different people for different reasons. Sometimes Good things happen to others sometimes bad. Sometimes they just have the right connections, sometimes they are in the right place at the right time, sometimes they may have just gotten lucky. Sometimes perhaps they ARE better than us, but that doesn’t mean we should give up. Instead we should try that much harder to be our best.

The only one you have to be better than is yourself

there is a Friends video I love that goes with this. Phoebe convinces Monica to do Thanksgiving dinner again urging Monica on that “You would be in competition with yourself!” Monica says ” That’s my favorite kind [of competition]

Here is how I handle it:

  • Take a deep breath
  • Realize they are not me and I am not them
  • Find ways to challenge yourself
  • Keep the faith
  • Keep up the work
  • Take stock in yourself. What can you do better? What can you do to take a step in the direction of your dreams? Realizing we really are NOT doing everything makes a difference. When I make this assessment I notice that there is something, even if seemingly small that I could do differently
  • Serve someone else. Serving another takes focus off ourselves and when we help another we are helping ourselves. Maybe in that serving we will get an answer to something we didn’t see in ourselves and that might be the thing we need to change

Remember, each of us is fabulous in our our way

Be Fabulous

As you already are 🙂

 

Comments are closed.